Feature film awards 2020

The Festival du nouveau cinéma de Montréal is proud to announce the feature film winners of its 49th edition:

Compétition internationale

The Compétition internationale – longs métrages jury was composed of Pascale Bussières, Louise Lecavalier and Félix Dufour-Laperrière.

Louve d'or presented by Quebecor

Best feature film of the competition ($15,000 cash from QUEBECOR)

WINNER: Atlantis - Valentyn Vasyanovych
Watch online

Prix d'interprétation

Best actor or actress in a feature film of the compétition

WINNER: Mary Twala Mhlongo in This Is Not a Burial, It's a Resurrection
Watch online

Prix de l'innovation Daniel Langlois

Recognizes a work that stands out for its daring aesthetics, creative use of new technologies and/or groundbreaking treatment of a sensitive subject matter.

WINNER: Êxtase - Moara Passoni
Watch online

FIPRESCI - Fédération internationale de la presse cinématographique

The FIPRESCI jury was composed of Daniel Medeiros, Jasmina Šepetavc and Victor Stiff.

Prix de la critique internationale FIPRESCI

Best first feature from any section.

WINNER: Last and First Men - Jóhann Jóhannsson
Watch online

Compétition nationale

The Compétition nationale jury was composed of Evelyne de la Chenelière, Timothée Donay and Ewa Puszczynska.

Grand prix presented by Post-Moderne

Best feature film of the competition ($1,000 cash from FNC and $15,000 in equipment rental and post-production services awarded by POST-MODERNE)

WINNER: Judy vs Capitalism - Mike Hoolboom
Watch online

Prix de la diffusion Quebecor

To showcase an outstanding film of the competition ($30,000 in advertising services from QUEBECOR)

Sin la Habana - Kaveh Nabatian
Watch online

Les nouveaux alchimistes

The Main Film « Les nouveaux alchimistes » (feature films) jury was composed of Karl Lemieux, Jacquelyn Mills and Erin Weisgerber.

Prix des nouveaux alchimistes presented by Main Film

WINNER: Khamsin - Grégoire Orio & Grégoire Couvert
Watch online

FNC Explore

The FNC Explore jury was composed of Annick Blanc, Charlotte Corchète and Victoire Thevenin.

Prix Horizon

Most Innovative 6DoF Animation ($1,000 cash from FNC)

WINNER: The Book of Distance - Randall Okita
Watch online

Prix Panorama VR

Best 360 Virtual Reality Artwork ($1,000 cash from FNC)

WINNER: O - Qiu Yang
Watch online

Les P'tits loups

The P'tits Loups jury was composed of young movie lovers (8-12 y.o.).

Prix des P'tits loups

Best short film of the competition according to a jury of young moviegoers (aged 8-12)

WINNER: À la mode - Jean Lecointre
Watch online

Short Film Awards 2020

The Festival du nouveau cinéma de Montréal is proud to announce the short film winners of its 49th edition:


The Compétition internationale - short films jury was composed of Odile JOANNETTE, Deragh CAMPBELL and Carmine PIERRE-DUFOUR.

Loup argenté presented by TFO

Best short film of the competition ($5,000 cash) presented by TFO

SPECIAL MENTION OF THE JURY : Red Aninsri; or, Tiptoeing on The Still Trembling Berlin wall - Ratchapoom Boonbunchachoke
Watch online
WINNER : Filipiñana - Rafael Manuel
Watch online


The Compétition nationale – short films jury was composed of Mathieu JANSSEN, Sarah SCHLÜSSEL and Mathilde DELAUNAY.  

SPECIAL MENTION : Benjamin, Benny, Ben - Paul Shkordoff (Watch online)

Grand Prix presented by CineGround

Best short film of the competition ($7,500 in post-production services awarded by CINEGROUND).

WINNER : Écume - Omar Elhamy
Watch online

Prix du public presented by SLA Location

Best short film of the competition ($5,000 in film equipment rental awarded by SLA LOCATION).

WINNER : Comme une comète - Ariane Louis-Seize
Watch online


The AQCC jury Les nouveaux alchimistes – short films was composed of Justine SMITH, Julie VAILLANCOURT and Claire VALADE. 

Prix de la meilleure animation presented by TVPAINT

Best animated short film of the competition awarded by TVPAINT (A professional license worth $1,900) 

WINNER : Serial Parallels - Max Hattler
Watch online

Prix Dada National presented by Main Film and AQCC

Best short film of the competition ($5,000 in creative residency at MAIN FILM and $500 cash awarded by AQCC)

WINNER : Barcelona Burning - Theodore Ushev
Watch online

Prix Dada International

Best short film of the competition
 ($1,000 cash awarded by FNC).

WINNER: How to disappear - Total Refusal
Watch online


The short films jury of Rencontres pancanadiennes du cinéma étudiant was composed of Sophie DUPUIS, Jean-Christophe J. LAMONTAGNE and Carlos David VELANDIA VARGAS

Grand Prix presented by Netflix 

Best student short film (2 000$ grant awarded by NETFLIX and a research and creation residency in collaboration with the invited international school.)

WINNER : Danica’s Mom - Kennedy Kao (University of Toronto)
Watch online

x Close

Our newsletter

Stay connected

Sign-up for our newsletter to get all the latest Festival news!

Please fill this field Invalid first name
Please fill this field Invalid last name
Please fill this field Invalid email
Send You'll receive an email soon to confirm your subscription to our newsletter You are already subscribed to the newsletter

To learn more about our privacy policy, click here